Welcome to the homepage of L. Kador's group




Our main field of research is confocal microscopy and confocal micro-spectroscopy. Using custom-built set-ups, optimized for their respective applications, we conduct experimental research in the following areas: One subject is single-molecule spectroscopy at low temperatures. We investigate the interaction mechanisms between single dopant molecules and their surroundings in solid matrices, mainly glasses. Tunneling processes in an amorphous matrix manifest themselves as frequency shifts of the chromophore spectra. Also line shifts due to external perturbations such as hydrostatic pressure and electrical fields are investigated. The chromophores act as local probes and provide information about their environments in the solid. One can, e. g., obtain the parameters of single two-level systems in an amorphous polymer or learn details of the interaction between a chromophore and its environment. The two panels above show repeated scans over single-molecule lines in toluene (left) and polyisobutylene (PIB; top) and toluene (bottom). Obviously the low-molecular glass former toluene and the amorphous polymer PIB have completely different tunneling dynamics. We have a close collaboration with the group of Prof. Yuri G. Vainer at the Institute of Spectroscopy of the Russian Academy of Sciences in Troitsk, Moscow Region.


The second field is confocal Raman microscopy and confocal fluorescence lifetime imaging microscopy (FLIM) at room temperature. This technique provides three-dimensional information about the chemical composition of the sample on the micrometer scale and allows one to record chemical images with purely optical means, i. e., in a non-destructive fashion. The two images show cross sections through the spider silk fibers of two different spider species; the intensity distributions of characteristic Raman lines are plotted in false-color representation.


Another research area is the investigation of holographic gratings in modern high-tech polymers, mainly with respect to technical applications for optical data storage. Here we have a collaboration with the chair Macromolecular Chemistry I, Prof. Dr. H.-W. Schmidt. Above we see a sample with inscribed holograms between crossed polarizers. The project is funded by the Collaborative Research Center (Sonderforschungsbereich) 481.


Gallium selenide (GaSe) and some related layered semiconductors are characterized by huge coefficients of the optical nonlinearity of second order (chi(2)). We investigate these substances in collaboration with Prof. Kerim L. Allahverdi (Marmara Research Centre of TÜBITAK and Azerbaidjan Academy of Sciences, Baku). The three panels show the spatial distributions of three polytypes at the surface of a Gase crystal, recorded with confocal luminescence microscopy. The field of view is 100 × 100 microns.

Further interests include the detection of radon and its disintegration products in the environment. The experimental method is mainly alpha spectroscopy.

Universität Bayreuth -

Willkommen auf der Homepage der Arbeitsgruppe L. Kador

 

pibtrails

toluenetrails

Unser Hauptarbeitsgebiet ist die konfokale Mikroskopie und konfokale Mikro-Spektroskopie. Mit Hilfe selbst gebauter, für die jeweiligen Aufgaben optimierter Apparaturen werden hauptsächlich zwei Forschungsrichtungen verfolgt: Die eine Richtung umfasst die Einzelmolekülspektroskopie (Spektroskopie einzelner Dotierungsmoleküle in Festkörpermatrizes) bei tiefen Temperaturen. Hierbei messen wir unter Anderem spektrale Linienverschiebungen durch Tunnelprozesse im Festkörper oder durch schwache äußere Störungen wie Druck oder elektrische Felder. Die Dotierungsmoleküle dienen als lokale Sonden, die Informationen über ihre Festkörperumgebung auf der Nanometer-Skala liefern. Man erhält z. B. die Parameter einzelner Tunnelsysteme in amorphen Materialien oder erfährt Details der Wechselwirkung zwischen dem Dotierungsmolekül und seiner Umgebung. Die beiden oberen Bilder zeigen wiederholte Aufnahmen von Einzelmolekülspektren in Polyisobutylen (PIB; oben) und Toluol (unten). Es ist unmittelbar zu sehen, dass der niedermolekularen Glasbildner Toluol eine völlig andere Tunneldynamik aufweist als das amorphe Polymer PIB. Hier besteht eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Yuri G. Vainer am Institut für Spektroskopie der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Troitsk bei Moskau.

spw2d1spw2d2

Das zweite Arbeitsgebiet ist die konfokale Raman-Mikroskopie und konfokale Fluoreszenzlebensdauer-Mikroskopie (FLIM) bei Zimmertemperatur. Mit ihrer Hilfe können Substanzgemische auf der Mikrometerskala zerstörungsfrei chemisch analysiert werden. Daraus erhält man ein Abbild der chemischen Zusammensetzung einer Probe mit rein optischen Mitteln. Die beiden Bilder zeigen z. B. die Querschnitte der Spinnfäden zweier Spinnenarten; dargestellt ist die Intensitätsverteilung charakteristischer Raman-Linien.

holo7

Ein weiteres Forschungsgebiet besteht in der Untersuchung holographischer Gitter in modernen Funktionspolymeren, insbesondere im Hinblick auf praktische Anwendungen für die optische Datenspeicherung. Hierbei arbeiten wir eng mit der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. H.-W. Schmidt am Lehrstuhl Makromolekulare Chemie I zusammen. Oben ist eine Probe mit eingeschriebenen Hologrammen zwischen gekreuzten Polarisatoren zu sehen. Das Projekt wird vom Sonderforschungsbereich 481 gefördert.

raman5

Einige Schichthalbleiter vomTyp des Gallium-Selenids (GaSe) zeichnen sich durch extrem hohe optische Nichtlinearitäten zweiter Ordnung (chi(2)) aus. Wir untersuchen diese Substanzen in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Kerim L. Allahverdi (Marmara-Forschungszentrum von TÜBITAK, Gebze-Kocaeli, Türkei und Institut der Wissenschaften von Aserbaidschan, Baku). Die drei Bilder zeigen die räumlichen Verteilungen dreier Kristallmodifikationen an der Oberfläche eines GaSe-Kristalles, aufgenommen mittels konfokaler Lumineszenz-Mikroskopie. Die Bildausschnitte betragen jeweils 100 × 100 Mikrometer.

Darüber hinaus gilt das Interesse dem Nachweis von Radon und Radon-Folgeprodukten in der Umwelt, insbesondere mittels alpha-Spektroskopie.

Universität Bayreuth -